about my old job (a review)…

First of all, my boss was terrible. I was overworked, underpaid, and most importantly, I wasn’t satisfied that all my hard work resulted in one ginormous goose-egg in the bank.

For those who don’t already know, you guessed right. For the past year or so, I’ve been working for myself in my own company. (yeah, the pictures don’t show up.) I’ve managed to squander a good sum of my dad’s hard earned money, not to mention some of my own. I’ve made a mess of both my personal and professional life and learned a great deal about humility.

This is, however not a letter of surrender.

I haven’t given up on my dream. I haven’t even given up on my company. I’m just looking for a better way to get to where I want to be while avoiding certain things from impeding my progress.

In hindsight, I think I rushed into entrepreneurship without fully understanding how a business should be ran. Ultimately it was my lack of experience and not my lack of ability that was my undoing. I will not be caught so unprepared again.

As I set aside this chapter of my career, I can say that I do not regret the decision to go out on my own. If you don’t try, you never know. Now that I know, I’ll be sure to do better with any opportunities that come along.

As we speak, my company is in a rebounding path and from the looks of it, I’ll be able to generate some on-going business for the short to medium term. There are also some longer term prospects and goals that are in the works but I’ll be taking a wait-and-see attitude towards those far fetched leads. Well, patient but proactive anyways.

In the mean time, since I no longer have staff at my company, I’ll be looking to enlist my friends and colleague’s help with these projects. So you iPhone developer buddies of mine out there, take notice. I’ll be calling you soon. (I hope that one day our beautiful website will be reborn as well.)

At the same time, I’m going full steam ahead with my new adventure into what was previously an unknown territory for me. (Yes, I’m still putting off writing about this.)

With great passion, hard work and belief in myself, I’m confident that fortune will smile upon me in glorious fashion someday very soon.

Stay tuned if you care.

Or I’ll make you pay attention, one way or another.

*Special thanks to njharman for the flickr photo*

2 thoughts on “about my old job (a review)…

  1. Pingback: 欲速則不達 « Ken哥哥 之狂想曲

Leave a Reply

